The new features will be available in the fall as a free software update for iPhone 8 and later models.

Apple just announced iOS 16 and now we finally know which iPhone models are supported by the new operating system.

According to Apple’s website, iOS 16 requires an iPhone 8 or later. This means that Apple has discontinued support for the iPhone SE, iPhone 6s and iPhone 7. Unsurprisingly, the iPod touch won’t support the new version of iOS, as the company stopped production last month.

Here is a list of all iPhone models compatible with iOS 16:

  • iPhone 8 and 8 Plus
  • iPhone X
  • iPhone XS and XS Max
  • iPhone XR
  • iPhone 11
  • iPhone 11 Pro and Pro Max
  • iPhone 12 and 12 mini
  • iPhone 12 Pro and Pro Max
  • iPhone 13 and 13 mini
  • iPhone 13 Pro and Pro Max
  • iPhone SE (second and third generation)

For those participating in the Apple Developer Program, the preview of iOS 16 is already available at The public beta will be available for iOS users and users next month on .

Subscribe To Our Tech News & Newsletters

Join our mailing list to receive the latest tech news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This